Project idea - distributed library

Some time ago, after another internet library got seized by the fbi I realized, there is no truly unstoppable alternative.
It would be so cool to be able to share books with your friends, family, or even strangers off-grid, by bluetooth or online with help of some p2p technology, without any fear of censorship or getting blacklisted by isp for 'piracy' or dmca abuse, wouldn't it?


My first idea was to create a separate application for the computer to share, browse and download books. The files we downloaded would be automatically distributed to ensure maximum accessibility, and an index of all currently available books would be stored in a decentralized database.

I'm initially planning to use ipfs and javascript for this, which may be a challenge for me as I don't have any formal training in computer science nor do I know javascript well enough to do something so ambitious, but I think I'll get there with small steps. I will possibly give regular updates on the progress.


Have a nice day and see you next time