While I am aiming to explain things in the most accessible way possible, there are some prerequisites you should consider:

Personally, I've used various code editors, from vim and emacs to xcode and visual studio, and honestly, it's just a matter of preference because all can get the job done. But don't worry, there are plenty of tutorials over the internet on how to both install and compile C files. It might sound daunting at first, but the more code you write, the more likely you'll turn to internet resources to solve problems anyway.

I won't be providing a tutorial on installation for several reasons:

  1. Troubleshooting visual studio on puppy linux is beyond my mental capacity.
  2. Every operating system handles installing software differently.
  3. If you don't know how to install software on the computer, well, I am not sure if coding is right for you at the moment.
  4. Creating another tutorial would be just reinventing the wheel.

Note: I am not a teacher, computer scientist neither. I am just a brainrotted teenager learning C for fun. While I try my best to provide reliable information, I shouldn't be your single source of truth. Don't hesitate to seek additional resources and report any suggestions to me (@ketamine_neko on Discord).

As always, I believe in your technical skills and see you next time!
Hopefully, in the next week, we will start our trip into the depths of C language, so stay tuned.

Stay hydrated,
Laura